What spread would i do, just to ask a basic question?

• Past, Present and Future one, maybe? I don't know. I'm new to the tarot world. I'd appreciate any help on what spread to do, just to ask a basic question. Thank you.

• grungychick, there's endless spreads for questions as specific or general as you want, and geared toward any question. However, since you want to ask a basic question, there's one spread I find very easy and effective. Here's one useful way to conduct a reading:

1. Sitting on the floor, or a table with plenty of room, shuffle your cards by spreading them all out in all directions, like a pool. This allows you to connect with and feel the energy of individual cards. As you shuffle, think about your question, or general area of concern (career, love, etc.). Do this until you are ready to gather them up and put them in a regular stack again.

2. Once they are stacked, with your left hand (I'm not sure why, but I've heard many times it's most effective) cut the deck into four piles.

3. Draw the one on the furthest left, being careful to preserve the direction (upright or reversed, meaning upside down). This card represents your current situation.

4. Draw the next one, placing it below and to the left of the first. This represents past influences.

5. The third card represents something to consider that you may not have thought of. Place it directly below the first. (It may represent someone influencing the situation if it is a Court card with a page, knight, etc.)

6. The fourth and final card indicates what you should do. For example, if you get the High Priestess, it means you should follow your intuition.