Could really use advice

• Hi, I'm a newbie and could really use some advice. Last week my house was broken into and I have been suspecting a friend. I have no proof just my gut feeling and a lot of weird behaviour to go on. My son and hers are best friends and I have to see her everyday at school. I have been trying to avoid her and so she has been sending me text messages. Against my better judgement on the advice of my fiance I haven't answered her. She told me the police told her we suspect her, the police said they didn't. She came looking for me in my sons classroom this morning and then rang me shortly after. She says she didn't do it and was crying and telling me what a bad friend I am for not coming to her. I told her she is right, I should have sent her a message or something but didn't as it was causing arguments with my fiance. She said I am under his thump and will be a very lonely woman. Her daughter lent my daughter some pjs which I need to return and I have to see her everyday at school. Call me a whimp but I just want to run away from the whole thing. Everytime I think about it I feel physically ill and pain in my back and neck. I don't have any proof and could have made a horrible mistake. I could really do with some advice. Any help would be much appreciated.

• Be very careful - this woman has become obsessed with you. She is quite unstable mentally and yes I do think it was her who instigated the break-in, though I don't feel it was her in the flesh. You are right to feel uneasy - post the PJs back and cut off all contact. If you have to see her at school and in the area, be polite but not encouraging. This woman has done this sort of thing to other people she has known and it never ends well.