I feel like I am at the end of my rope.

• Hi. I have read a few forums and the advice seems very good. I have been unemployed for over 4 months now, after working as a florist for 8 years. I am an artist, and have always sought to find work that used some of my skills. I didn't have to have a career, I was married just short of 31 years, and my income just helped pay the bills. I didn't even get alimony, and my ability to make much money is almost 'nil. I have survived a lot, as my story will follow, but I don't know that I can survive this. There is nothing out there that I qualify for work, and the days are too long.

My whole life has been difficult. My father left my mother and 2 siblings when I was 6 months old. For years I thought it was me...he stayed with the rest. Mom remarried when I was 5 to a man who never said one kind word to me in my life, yet I strived for years to make hime love me.

I found out when I was a teenager that my "real' father murdered a woman. I wondered, did I carry that insanity within me?

I married a man like my stepfather, I realized later to try to recreate and make things right. He had affairs, verbally abused me. I stayed in that relationship because I knew I would not be able to support my 2 boys and provide the college education I never had, to better their futures.

I couldn't get pregnant for some years, then had a tubal pregnancy, followed by to premature births in which both of my boys almost died.

A lot of other bad stuff happened, but I will spare you that. I have always tried to keep a smile on my face in spite of how bad I have felt I believe in karma, and positive and negative energies.

My mom came to live with me, developed breast cancer and came to work every day so that I could use my lunch hour for her radiation treatments. After she continued to come to work every day for 5 years.