Dear Cris1962, you asked for a reading. . . .

• Hi Cris,

As for being with your friend, she needs you now. It would be highly beneficial and healing for you to do something different in order to gain more balance to your life.

As far as the man you love goes, I have a story for you. Yes, just for you.

When I was a freshman in college, my roommate fixed me up with a friend of hers over New Years' weekend because he was going to be shipped out to Vietnam the following week. Naturally, it was a blind date, a so-so night topped off with in invitation for the next night's New Year's Eve bash at his cousin's house. I went, had fun, came home and left for college on Sunday, having no feelings whatsoever about the weekend beyond having had a good time.

When I got to the dorm, he was waiting for me, taking me into his arms in a huge bear hug that took my breath away. When he returned home, we talked on the phone for hours, and then he left for Vietnam on that following Tuesday. We exchanged addresses, and sure enough, a week later, my mailbox was full of his letters.

In the first letter, he told me all about his plans for the future, how he'd changed his life insurance to name me his heir, bought a car for me in his hometown, how we'd be married when he came home. . . and I freaked out. I had not been away from home for six months, and here was this stranger planning my life for me. To him, we were engaged.

Immediately, I wrote him back telling him I was not ready, at all, to be married to someone I did not even know. Writing to a soldier was one thing, but marriage? Needless to say, I kept dating and writing to him, never suspecting this situation would turn out to be the most haunting of my entire life.