Virgo man curious about Cancer woman

• Ok, I have never done this before but reading about so many relationship questions about Cancers, I wanted to know if anyone could help me figure things out. I met this girl about six months ago, we were good friends, we laughed, joked, etc... We started hanging out and then one thing led to another. We have now been dating for 6 weeks. Since we were friends first everything moved very quickly. We've exchanged "I love you" really quickly, Initiated by her. I fell hard and quick. Everything changed soon afterwards. She is very passionate, meaning that everything is all about love or all about climbing into her shell. I've read about Cancers so I understood what I was getting into, wow is everything true! I'm at my wits end though, this past weekend we went to a friends engagement party, everything was going great considering this was a female friend of mine, 13 years, that my girlfriend was meeting for the first time. Well everything was going great, earlier in the night we were discussing our future and what we both need and expect from one another. Well the guys and girls seperated, when we got back together, everything was great again until this guy flipped his stuff and my girlfriend stuck up for me. Being a strong woman that she is, I tried to leave the situation because it would have escalated into a physical fight with me and him. She took a verbal lashing from this guy and all I did was try to get her out. Outside she was crying, I held her as well as thanked her, I explained that not getting into a physical fight was my main objective, we are all in our 30's and we have been drinking a lot, and the guys wasn't worth it. She said all she was doing was sticking up for her man and that I left her hanging, I never left her side. Here's my real question though, it seems like whenever I don't do something a 100% to her liking I'm wrong. We are compatible with each other, but again when everything doesn't go her way she cralw