TheCaptain: could I have your advise on dreams, please

• How are you? I'd like just say thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the help you've given me, and I'm sure countless others. You are truly amazing and generous with your gifts.

So, I've been practicing meditation for about 6 months now.. I'm able to center myself more regularly as of recently, but my question is in regards to sleeping.
    I've come to believe that sleep is not really for resting but more for a respite from momentum of the Law Of Attraction. However, sometimes (or more often than not, lately) I wake up from nightmares that throw my emotional set point off. I'm terrified and my monkey mind (like a hamster on a wheel) sets in immediately. I'm able to find clarity again after meditating sometimes.
    I wondered if you have any advise on how to put these subconscious thoughts and emotions at ease? Do the dreams signify something that I should be facing in the daylight? And if so, how could I address this negativity and manage staying on the path of least resistance?
    I want so badly to be coming from a place of unconditional love. I know I have my work cut out for me and a lifetime of lessons, but I would like to finally walk away from my past and fully stay in the present.

• forgive the intrusion dear Captain!