I'm a virgo sun/leo moon/cap rising he's a gemini

• I don't know what his moon and rising signs are but he fluctuates between outgoing and super chatty to very sensitive and withdrawn. This is also the case with me. We are both artistic people, he is a producer and I am a writer. We seem to be so incredibly similar in our interests and moods, but somehow, the more he attempts to appease me and gain my trust, the more I distrust him.

Most of it has to do with the fact that he is still great friends with his ex wife who is also a Gemini. She is engaged and has a baby with another man, yet she and my boyfriend were high school sweethearts and they still have matching puzzle piece tattoos. He has told me that he will not stop being friends with her. Because of this, I am very, very cautious! He wants me to show more affection toward him and I have analyzed this to the millionth degree. I wonder if he wants this in order to make his ex jealous. However, when we are together in private, he has this look in his eye and he has told me he is falling for me. I did not respond to this, but I am affectionate with him and I am falling for him.

If I am being honest, I want to win. I want to annihilate his ex and I want him to prove to me that he is 100% loyal. In my mind I hear myself saying "work for it boy!" I also have huge urges to make him jealous and have done so in very indirect manipulative ways. I then feel guilty after the fact. He does not have a problem with me meeting the ex, although the time that she was supposed to come out, she ended up not making it.