My first serious Tarot reading - help?

• Hi everyone,

Last week I bought my first tarot deck. I'm really excited! I've been doing one card pulls to get a feel for the deck for the last few days. This afternoon I decided to do a more comprehensive reading on my career.

I've been struggling with trying to figure out how my personal history ties into my vocation. I'm a college student and I know that I need to do something that has deep emotional and spiritual meaning for my life work. I asked the divine spirit what I should focus on as I search for the profession that appeals to my personal history. The Hermit and Temperance were drawn at the same time.

It would seem that my deck was trying to tell me that I needed to do some soul searching and have patience... but it almost seemed as if the question the deck answered was not the one I asked, and that I merely drew these cards for something similar to the self position in traditional spreads.

What insight can you offer me on this matter? How should these cards be read as they pertain to career, or I would need someone else to conduct a reading that means to much to me? Perhaps I'm mis reading my cards? Or I don't want to see what they have to say...

• Hey there Electrum! πŸ™‚

I felt so compelled to respond to you. I feel so similar to you! haha.

I am also a college student, and I am also worried that I'm not going to make my dream come true (I'm a nursing major!). I also started reading tarot cards not too long ago, in September, when I was surprised by my sister on our birthday (we're twins) with a tarot deck.

I like you, attempted to do readings for myself. But I felt like they weren't right. I thought they were really off on my personality and everything.