AstraAngel, your insight please....

• I posted this concern on another thread, however, I would like your most expert opinion as well. This concerns some things that a person whom I thought was a friend of mine (he's a Capricorn, born in 1957 too) said about me to the recruiting representative from my new company. You see, I have been offered a management position with this company (after being unemployed for nearly 2 years) and I am really excited about this new position. My friend indicated to me a couple weeks ago that he was interested in pursuing some part time sales position and might be interested in learning more about my company. Since I've known this person for several years and have worked within the same field, I felt comfortable in introducing him to the recruiting rep. Well, my friend began making comments about me to the recruiter, clearly trying to cast a shadow of doubt about my abilities to handle the management position. It is not like I'm a novice at this profession, I've been in it 25 years and have extensive experience in many facets, including management. It is just that the past couple years, I've been away from it (due to unemployment) and regulations have changed. I'm certainly confident about my abilities and all persons who come on board with my new company are trained and "brought up to speed" on the current regulations and guidelines, so the point he was making was really moot. And, we were there to talk about a part time sales job, not my management position!