New to tarot - general q's and help with a specific reading. <3 Thanks

• Hi.

I've read about Tarot and studied it for a while, but I'm still relatively new to readings. I'm wondering if you can help to answer a few questions I have about the Celtic Cross, and about a specific Celtic Cross reading that I did.

I did a Celtic Cross that had the positions as follows:

Past/Present; Immediate Challenges; Distant Past; Recent Past; Best Outcome; Immediate Future; Factors; External Influences; Hopes and Fears; Final Outcome

However, upon researching my cards and their relationships, I read that these are not actually the positions of the celtic cross, traditionally! If they were in my mind when I did the reading, however, are they still valid to read like this? Or must I adhere to the Crowning Matter, the Root Cause, etc?

Then, here is the reading itself:

Past/Present: Four of Wands (Reversed)

Immediate Challenges: The World

Distant Past: The Devil

Recent Past: Strength

Best Outcome: Empress (Reversed)

Immediate Future: Knight of Pentacles (Reversed)

Factors: 8 of Pentacles (Reversed)

External Influences: 5 of Swords

Hopes and Fears: High Priestess

Final Outcome: Two of Wands

The matter on which I was meditating was my relationship with a friend, with whom I'm in love. I'm not sure how they feel, exactly. I'm not sure what will happen, exactly. I'm feeling a bit adrift over the whole thing, really. We had dated, and then decided we would be better as friends than as a couple. We both admitted feelings for each other, but Friend said that it was weird the way that I had not shown my feelings, and that Friend's feelings were edging closer to friendship... so I missed the boat. We continue to be close, to talk, to hang out. I feel like we're both trying to make up our minds. I'm looking for guidance - insight on our relationship (be it platonic or otherwise), and what I should do next.